Djekovic, Wymbs make history at Beacon tourney

by John Malone on
Sat, Jan 19, 2013 7:36 PM

Updated Tue, Jan 22, 2013 11:24 AM

Milestones in wrestling are important. Everyone knows what the 100-win club means to a wrestler. When you can get a milestone victory in a championship match it means that much more.

Tappan Zee’s Desmond Djekovic earned his 100th victory in front of a dozen or more family and friends in the 152-pound final of the Beacon Tournament with a 13-5 victory over Dwayne Richards of Kingston.

“I’m so happy to reach this milestone, I never though this day would come after winning just seven matches in my freshman year,” Djekovic said. “I’m very happy to reach this goal and now I can focus on the postseason.”

Djekovic needed four victories coming into the Beacon Tournament and knew that if he didn’t have a bye in the first round, he could get achieve it with the championship match.

“It was great to have such good crowd support for me today,” Djecovic said. “So many family and friends drove an hour here to see me, it’s special.”

Djekovic wasn’t the only wrestler at Beacon to come away with a big victory. Horace Greeley’s Scott Wymbs won his 117th wrestling match with a 3-1 overtime victory over top seed Deon Edmond of Kingston in the 195-pound final. That win gave Wymbs the record for most victories in Horace Greeley history and earned him wrestler of the tournament honors.

“I beat all the greats at Greeley, it’s a good feeling,” Wymbs said. “I totally forgot about it coming into today, I knew I was over 100, but I wrestle better not really knowing what’s going on and I came out with the record.”

Arlington retained the Dutchess Cup with a second place team finish in the tournament behind Section 9’s Valley Central. As the top finishing team within Dutchess County, Arlington kept the trophy once again. Travis Becker won the 113-pound title, Mike Peterson won the 160-pound division, and Brady Robin won the 99-pound title in the most exciting championship match of the tournament.

Robin, a freshman, defeated junior teammate Alfredo Olmedo 5-2 in three overtimes. It was the first time the two teammates faced each other when it counted.

“We are great friends and know so much about each other,” Robin said. “It gives me a lot of confidence to beat a wrestler as great as Alfredo is. I feel like I can beat anyone right now.”

Robin and Olmedo went at it for nearly eight minutes with great action throughout before Robin used some scrambling to improve his position and get a near fall to win it.

“All the sprints I do with my dad after practice really helped me there,” Robin said. “I was in great shape for this match and that definitely helped me.”

Ossining’s Alex Delacruz rolled through the competition in the 120-pound division with a technical fall in the final and first round, a pin in the quarters, and a majority decision in the semifinals.

Clarkstown North’s Colby Kash continued his solid senior year with four dominant victories en route to the 138-pound title which he won by pin against Noah Hovde of Tappan Zee, a Rockland County rival.

Trent Lofaro of Ossining picked up the 220-pound title to give the Pride two champions on the day. He beat top-seed John Hartnett of Tappan Zee in the final and had a tough 1-0 decision victory in the quarterfinals over John Jay-Cross River’s Louis Talia.

Mike Manni continued his undefeated season for Tappan Zee with a 3-1 overtime victory over Greeley’s Brent Lobien, a match that will probably take place again down the line.

Championship Results

99- Brady Robin (Arl) over Alfredo Olmedo (Arl), D 5-2, SV2
106- Jon Errico (Byram) over Brian Hong (CNorth), F 5:07
113-Travis Becker (Arl) over Gabe Campbell (VC), D 6-1
120- Alex Delacruz (Oss) over Hussain Hasan (VC), TF 21-5
126- Corey Cummings (VC) over Mike Chirasello (Arl), D 6-4, SV1
132- Bryan Mongiello (Wash) over Danny Murphy (RCK), D 5-0
138- Colby Kash (CNorth) over Noah Hovde (TZ), F 4:12
145- Mike Milisci (Wash) over Brad Marvin (RCK), D 5-3
152- Desmond Djekovic (TZ) over Dwayne Richards (King), Maj 13-5
160- Mike Peterson (Arl) over Tyler Anderson (King), D 9-6
170- Jake Wood (King) over Leo McCarthy (Oss), Maj 10-2
182- Rob Cuomo (Saug) over Kurt Romano (TZ), F 1:36
195- Scott Wymbs (HG) over Deon Edmond (King), D 3-1, SV1
220- Trent Lofaro (Oss) over John Hartnett (TZ), D 7-4
285- Mike Manni (TZ) over Brent Lobien (HG) D 3-1, SV1

Team Results (Top 5)

201.0 Valley Central
198.0 Arlington
190.5 Washingtonville
173.0 Clarkstown North
148.0 Tappan Zee

Email John Malone at jmalone@cablevision.com. Follow him on Twitter: @MSGV_Malone 


Scores / Schedules

Latest Tweets