Update: Section 1 baseball championships

by MSG Varsity on
Wed, May 30, 2012 7:10 PM

Updated Fri, Jun 1, 2012 7:45 AM
Update: Section 1 baseball championships
Photo by Ed Diller

Follow Kevin Devaney on Twitter for live updates from Dutchess Stadium: @MSGVarsityKDJ

Thursday May 31
Class AA

Arlington 6, John Jay-East Fishkill 4

Arlington did all the scoring it needed in the first inning of the Section 1 Class AA championship game. The Admirals scored six runs on five hits to open the game. John Jay could never fully recover.

Robbie Camastro hit a two-run triple and finished 3-for-4. Drew Lugbauer hit an RBI-double and Mike Scocozza added an RBI-single all in the first inning.

John Jay answered with three first-inning runs on three walks and two hit batsmen, but left the bases loaded. The Patriots left 11 men on base total and didn't have an extra-base hit in the game.

Matt Lisella and Jon Repetto combined to throw 6 1/3 innings of shutout baseball for John Jay in relief.

Arlington's Kevin McKenna pitched 2 1/3 innings of relief and didn't allow a run. He recorded a save. Tyler Bruno picked up the win.

Class A

Harrison 3, Byram Hills 2 (10 Inn.)

Alex Beckett drew a bases loaded walk in the tenth inning to give Harrison it's first Section 1 baseball title since 2001. Tyler Hart doubled with two outs for the Huskies before Jake Zuckman and Shang-Li Polera drew walks to load the bases.

Harrison tied the game in the third inning with a sacrifice fly by Max Bruckner before both teams put zeroes on the board for six straight innings.

Bruckner pitched 3 and 2/3 innings of shutout relief just two days after tossing a complete game shutout in the semifinals. He picked up his third victory of the playoffs.

Byram Hills' Jack Hatheway allowed just one earned run in six innings on the mound and also had two hits including an RBI.

Wednesday May 30

Class C Championship

Haldane 7, Tuckahoe 4

The Blue Devils won their first Section 1 championship since 2003 behind the gutsy pitching on ace Dan Kinnaird. The senior tossed five innings and gave up just two earned runs despite taking a line drive off his knee in the first inning. Andrew Balducci had two RBI for Haldane on a pair of squeeze bunts. Matt Forlow was 2-for-3 with two runs and two stolen bases. Haldane will face the Section 9 champion on Monday at 4 p.m. at Pace University. 

Class B Championship

Briarcliff 5, Keio Academy 0

Top-seeded Briarcliff shutout the Unicorns behind a complete game three-hitter from Paul Henshaw in the Section 1 Class B championship game. Spencer Kulman was 2-for-3 with an RBI-triple and Ryan Huegel drove in two runs. The Bears repeated as Section 1 champions with the win.



Scores / Schedules

Latest Tweets